Team members

example graphic


Dr. J. K. Sarma (Team leader)

Professor

Dr. Jayanta Kumar Sarma has joined Department of Physics, Tezpur university in 1999. He had obtained his Ph. D from Gauhati University in 1994 under the supervison of Prof. D. K. Choudhury in the field of high energy Physics. So far, Prof. Sarma had guided 9 Ph. D. Thesis and 3 M. Phil dissertations. He has also worked in collaboration with G. R. Boroun who is an associate professor in Razi university, Iran.

About research: Currently, we are interested in the study of the nonlinear effects on hadron structure functions which come into existence due to the various parton recombination processes at small Bjorken variable x, in light of different nonlinear evolution equations of parton distribution functions (PDFs). In addition to these, some collaborative work is going on with Razi University of Iran on mainly nuclear structure functions. Recently, the developement of Quark-Gluon plasma (QGP) framework and generalized parton distribution functions (GPD's) have also caught my attention.

Contact details:
Room number: 259, Department of Physics, Tezpur university
Email: jks@tezu.ernet.in
Phone: 03712-275554(O), 267119(R)





example graphic


Madhurjya Lalung

Ph.D student

Madhurjya Lalung has joined this lab in Januray 2016.

Research Interests: Deep Inelastic Scattering (DIS) processes, Quantum Chromodynamics (QCD).

Summary of work: We study about the structure of hadrons in the partonic model framework of QCD using various evolution equations, particularly the GLR-MQ and GLR-MQ-ZRS equations. My aim is to study the higher order nonlinear effects that arise due to shadowing and anti-shadowing corrections.



Contact details:
Email: mlalung@tezu.ernet.in, mlalung2016@gmail.com
Phone number: +91-84729-11962





example graphic


Pragyan Phukan

Ph.D student

Pragyan Phukan has joined this lab in July, 2016.

Research Interests: High energy Physics, Quantum Chromodynamics (QCD).

Summary of work: My aim is to study the parton distribution functions (PDFs) using BFKL inspired nonlinear evolution equations. I study the x-evolution of PDFs near the saturation region at high energy scale.

Homepage



Contact details:
Email: pragyanp@tezu.ernet.in
Phone number: +91-96130-66737






example graphic


Somayeh Heidari

Ph.D student

Somayeh Heidari has joined this laboratory in October, 2017. She is doing her Ph.D from the Department of physics, Razi University, Kermanshah, Iran. She is on her Sabbatical Leaves to carry out a part of her thesis work under the supervision of Prof. JKS at the Dept. of Physics, Tezpur university, India.

Research Interests: Nuclear and Particle physics.

Summary of work: Somayeh Heidari is currently working on the nuclear structure functions.



Contact details:
Email: heidari@tezu.ernet.in, heidary.somayeh@gmail.com


Former members of this lab:

Name Email idCurrent position
Dr. Mayuri Deveemayuri@tezu.ernet.inFaculty member, Dept. of Physics, USTM Meghalaya
Dr. Rathin Sarmarathi123@tezu.ernet.inFaculty member, Dept. of Physics, Hojai college, Assam
Dr. Nayan Mani Nathnmn@tezu.ernet.inFaculty member, Dept. of Physics, Rajiv Gandhi Univesity, Arunachal Pradesh
Dr. Nomita Baruahbnomita@tezu.ernet.inUnknown
Dr. Sovan Ghoshsovan@tezu.ernet.inUnknown
Mr. Nazir Husain Shahnazir@tezu.ernet.inUnknown
Dr. Ranjit Baishyarjitboko@yahoo.ci.inFaculty member, Dept. of Physics, Jawaharlal Nehru College, Boko, Assam
Dr. Begum Ummi Jamiljamil@tezu.ernet.inFaculty member
Dr. Rasna Rajkhowarasna@tezu.ernet.inFaculty member
Dr. Ghana Kanta Medhigkmedhi@tezu.ernet.inFormer faculty member